Sunday, 22 April 2018 »  Login
Events » ICL 20s World Series Cricket Tournament
I am at

ICL 20s World Series Cricket Tournament

ICL 20s World Series Cricket Tournament is an event that took place between 09-Apr-2008 and 15-Apr-2008 in Hyderabad.
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Venue
    Lal Bahadur Stadium
    Fateh Maidan Road, Opposite Khan Lateef Khan Estate, Basheerbagh, Hyderabad • Telephone: 2753-6124
  • Date/Time
  • Type
  • Price
  • Add New Field:
After the resounding success of the ICL Edelweiss 20s Challenge Cricket Tournament that ended last week in Hyderabad, the Indian Cricket League (ICL) is organising the ICL 20s World Series Cricket Tournament from 9th to 15th April, at the Lal Bahadur Stadium. 3 of the best teams - World XI, India XI and Pakistan XI - selected from the eight teams that played the ICL Edelweiss 20s Challenge, will feature in this tournament.

Chris Cairns is the captain of the World XI team. The other members of the team are Russel Arnold, Marvan Atapattu, Upul Chandana, Matthew Elliot, Andrew Hall, Chris Harris, Ian Harvey, Michael Kasprowicz, Jimmy Maher, Damien Martyn, Daryl Tuffey, Johan van der Wath and Lou Vincent (wk).

The India XI side will be captained by R Sathish, and will have Abbas Ali, Love Ablish, Abu Nechim, Stuart Binny, Rohan Gavaskar, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Ibrahim Khaleel (wk), Thiru Kumaran, Ali Murtaza, Raviraj Patil, S Saravanan, TP Singh, TP Sudhindhra, Jamaluddin Syed Mohammed and G Vignesh making up the rest of the squad.

Inzamam-ul-Haq heads the formidable Pakistan XI. Arshad Khan, Hasan Raza, Humayun Farhat (wk), Imran Farhat, Imran Nazir, Mohammad Sami, Naved-ul-Hasan, Naved Latif, Riaz Afridi, Shabbir Ahmed, Shahid Nazir and Taufeeq Umar are the other members of the outfit.

The matches will all be played in the round-robin league with each team playing the other team twice. The top two teams from the league play the finals on 15th April. The format will be the exciting Twenty20, and the matches will be played under floodlights during the nights.

The Indian Cricket League (ICL) is a private cricket league that runs parallel to the existing cricket league managed by the BCCI. It is promoted by Zee Telefilms (part of Subash Chandra's Essel group), and was set up with a Rs. 100 crore (Rs. 1 billion) corpus. The inaugural season of the ICL was in November 2007. Since then, it has organised three tournaments and this is the fourth one. The Essel Group is also planning to set up cricket academies all over the country.

Entry to the matches is by tickets of Rs. 100 and Rs. 300 per head, available at specific Music World outlets and Walden (Begumpet). Please contact 3988-0288 for further details.
Share. Save. Connect.
Mukesh Kumar on 6th Apr 2008, 10:19pm | Permalink
It will be thrilling man
LEAVE A COMMENT has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about ICL 20s World Series Cricket Tournament!
Rate Event
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
This page was tagged for
Lal Bahadur Stadium Lal Bahadur Stadium events
April 2008 events
hyderabad sports
Follow on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.