Wednesday, 17 January 2018 »  Login
Events » The Bharatamuni Film Awards
I am at

The Bharatamuni Film Awards

The Bharatamuni Film Awards is an event that took place on 14-Dec-2000 in Hyderabad.
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Venue
    Sri Thyagaraja Gana Sabha (3.0 km)
    Behind Sudha Hotel, Vivek Nagar Road, Ashok Nagar, Chikkadpally, Hyderabad • Telephone: 040-2763-8241
  • Date/Time
    6:00pm to 10:00pm
  • Type
  • Price
  • Add New Field:
Are we slightly ahead of the times or are they slightly behind them? That's something that you wonder as you look at the winners of the film awards happening recently. The A P Cine Goers' Association and the Bharatamuni Arts Academy both seem to be honoring films of two years back. Samarasimha Reddy, Bharat Ratna… it's the same at all places. Maybe they are getting influenced by the movies themselves, which are pretty much behind the times and stagnant in themes and approach.

The Bharathamuni Arts Academy has been having these awards for 13 years now. It's been at Sri Kalahasti, where the academy is based, until 2 years back, and this is the second year that the awards are being given in Hyderabad. The founder of the academy is Munikrishna Reddy, and he is part of a 4-member committee that decides the awards on the basis of the ballots cast by the 1000+ members of the academy. The chairman of the Committee is P V Naidu, Additional DGP. Film producer Ambika Krishna and P V Nageshwara Rao of Jana Chaithanya Housing Group are the other two members.

To be a member, one has to be a resident of Srikalahasti or Madanapalli, and pay a yearly subscription of Rs 365. Each month, the academy has a number of entertainment programs like dance, plays, concerts and mimicry shows. These members participate in a number of social service activities.

These are the awards:

Film Best Film Bharata Ratna Bharata Ratna Best Experimental Film Devi Devi Best Comedy Film Pilla Nachindi Best Sensational Film Samara Simha Reddy Best Popular Film Raja Best Director Kodi Ramakrishna Bharata Ratna Best Actor Venkatesh Raja Best Actress Vijayashanthi Bharata Ratna Best Actor in a Special Role Sri Hari Sambayya Best Actress in a Special Role Indraja Surya Putrika Best Actor in a Comic Role Rajendra Prasad Chinni Chinni Asha Best Director (Debut) Chandra Mahesh Best Actor (Debut) Venu Swayamvaram Best Actress (Debut) Laya Swayamvaram Best Singer (Male) S P Balasubramaniam Best Singer (Female) S Janaki
For further details please contact Mr Munikrishna Reddy at 381-0667.
Share. Save. Connect.
Be the first to comment on The Bharatamuni Film Awards! Just use the simple form below.
LEAVE A COMMENT has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about The Bharatamuni Film Awards!
Rate Event
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
This page was tagged for
bharatamuni arts academy
bharatamuni awards 2012
Sri Thyagaraja Gana Sabha events
December 2000 events
hyderabad movies / film
Follow on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.