Thursday, 27 July 2017 »  Login
in
»
Events » Parikrama At Euphoria
I am at

Parikrama At Euphoria

Parikrama At Euphoria is an event that took place on 21-Feb-2003 in Hyderabad.
USER RATING
6.5
64 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
REVIEW FOR PARIKRAMA AT EUPHORIA
Far away in the uncharted backwaters of Hyderabad, there rolled in Parikrama to rock the crowd at Euphoria 2003, the annual festival of the Vasavi College of Engineering. Probably one of the greatest rock bands we have ever had, Parikrama kept the crowd's spirits up and inhibitions down right from the word go.

Though there seemed to be no apparent theme in Parikrama's repertoire, there was an underlying pattern that mirrored their psyche and the genre of music they associate with. Fashionably late by about an hour and a quarter, the band got straight into the groove with "Highway to Hell" by AC-DC - an act that is quintessentially dark, mighty and metal. Then it went to "Hush" by Deep Purple, who, unlike the characteristic death metal bands, don't fringe their music on nihilistic and destructive tendencies.


Waiting under the wraps was the soft yet psychedelic "Govinda" by Kula Sekhar, which immediately struck chord with the young folk who chanted along. A riff here and song there, and they got to the band they admire and believe in - Pink Floyd. Parikrama took off with an innovative variant of the dark and foreboding "Thin Ice" of The Wall. "We Don't Need No Education", not surprisingly, got everybody's imagination and was easily the most popular song with the crowd only too eager to partake. Floyd, again not surprisingly, got everybody to his or her feet and filled the air with mirth, excitement and, well, a lot of dust!

In all of about 60 minutes, just as people got on a high with the soaring tempo of the act, we were told that it all must come to a close owing to some security reasons. Pyrotechnics lit up the sky as the band played "Smoke on the Water" by Deep Purple, a befitting end that figuratively described the show - short yet scintillating.


NA chat with the group, Nitin (vocalist), Chintan (on the bass guitar) and others, gave an insight on what substance they are made of, and, like I said, the underlying pattern in the repertoire. Nitin, the vocalist, is a firm believer in Lord Shiva to whom he attributes everything that he's ever got. Chintan is an amazingly creative guy, infectiously energetic with a tinge of rebel inside. They stood by the philosophy of Rock - rebellious, creative, non-hypocritical, individualistic and don't-give-a-damn attitude. Parikrama rocks!

Amit Alampally
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
USER REVIEWS FOR PARIKRAMA AT EUPHORIA
1 - 8 OF 8 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
6.5
64 USERS
Artist(s') Talent
Entertainment
Ambience/Crowd
Value For Money/Time
NA
NA
NA
NA
Good for kids/family - NA
Good for dates - NA
Good for networking - NA
Time well-spent - NA
Shikha Agarwal on 27th Mar 2003, 7:18pm | Permalink
i am from the same college i.e vasavi ,just wanna say we r the best
RATING
10
SAi on 1st Mar 2003, 8:36pm | Permalink
lol...I just found a bug in yer site!! If a person rates a write-up more than once with the same name and the same email ID(can't confirm this), she can't check all of her reviews. The site just shows up only the first review she made!!
Amit...U owe me a chocoloate!!
RATING
2
SAi on 1st Mar 2003, 8:31pm | Permalink
Agreed they haven't changed thier playlist much for a long time now.
They play selected bands and they do shuffle thier songs very well among these bands. Thier playlist covers almost all of the top rock numbers. Arguably Parikrama is the best rock band India has ever produced. I have seen quite a few Indian bands like Shiva, Rudra, euphoria(yes..they do play some rock numbers!) but Parikrama stands out. But there many new bands comin up. Idea from Chennai should be the one to watch out. It has got a female as lead vocalist and it gives me strange kicks!!
RATING
8
Pope on 28th Feb 2003, 9:05pm | Permalink
*They stood by the philosophy of Rock - rebellious, creative, non-hypocritical, individualistic and don't-give-a-damn attitude. Parikrama rocks!*....creative ...really!! their song "Whiskey in the morning whoskey in the evening speaks of their briliance!!! Besides they are tooo commercial ... which really sux and speaks for thier attitude. Its been alomost 12 years and they dont have a single album release and thier set-list is the same. Last time I saw them was in '98 ... defintely over the hill . And yeah .. Amit...great take off on Douglas Adams ;)
Pradeep Nalluri on 25th Feb 2003, 8:58pm | Permalink
Parikrama havent changed there playlist from past 10 years.Its a bore to attend there concertrs.I bet evenlast year they played the same songs in Vasavi College.
RATING
2
Prem Kumar on 25th Feb 2003, 4:58pm | Permalink
The show was really good but for the once in a while disturbances from the crowd present. Regarding the overall organisation of the program , I would definitely agree with Amit, the program unnecessarily started late. The band was present right on time, but the organisers fancied themselves by asking the college band to perform for an hour. The college band could have started a bit early and given more time for the main band to perform. Nevertheless the performance of the college band was also very good and worth prasing. Keep it up Vasavi College band.
RATING
10
SAi on 25th Feb 2003, 4:49pm | Permalink
Thanx. You should have put u'r comments on the website instead, it would have helped me as well :)

-----Original Message-----
From: Popuri, Sai_Kumar
Sent: Tuesday, February 25, 2003 4:37 PM
To: Alampally, Amit_Kumar
Subject: RE: Parikrama rocks!

Parikrama was in BITS couple of times and I must admit that I really enjoyed thier show
Kudos to u bud..U did justice with yer writeup!!

-----Original Message-----
From: Alampally, Amit_Kumar
Sent: Tuesday, February 25, 2003 4:19 PM
Subject: Parikrama rocks!

http://www.fullhyderabad.com/scripts/profiles.php3?section=Events&name=Parikrama+At+Euphoria
RATING
8
Dheeraj on 25th Feb 2003, 12:50pm | Permalink
Nice review of the event.
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Parikrama At Euphoria!
Rate Event
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

MORE EVENTS IN THIS PERIOD
Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
hyderabad parikrama euphoria
Vasavi College Of Engineering events
February 2003 events
hyderabad arts
hyderabad concerts / live music
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.