Monday, 19 March 2018 »  Login
Events » Hyderabad Literary Festival 2010
I am at

Hyderabad Literary Festival 2010

Hyderabad Literary Festival 2010 is an event that took place between 10-Dec-2010 and 12-Dec-2010 in Hyderabad.
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
Muse India, a literary web-journal, and the Osmania University Centre for International Programmes (OUCIP) are jointly organising the Hyderabad Literary Festival from 10th to 12th December. The 1st day's sessions will be held at the Green Park Hotel, and the second day's proceedings will be held at the Osmania University Centre for International Programmes (OUCIP). Taramati Baradari will host a cultural evening on the second day.

The fest will play host to nearly 100 writers from across India, writing in various Indian languages and in English, and offers a unique opportunity for lovers of literature to listen to and interact with some of the best writers, both established and upcoming. The schedule of the 3-day program is as under:

10th December

9:30am to 9:45am - Inaugural function, followed by welcome address by Prof C Vijayasree (Director, OUCIP), and an overview of HLF2010 by G S P Rao (Managing Editor, Muse India)
9:45am to 9:50am - Inaugural Address by Prof. T Tirupati Rao (VC, OU)
9:50am to 10:05am - Lighting of the lamp, and the Chief Guest's address by V S Rama Devi (former Governor of Himachal Pradesh and Karnataka)
10:05am to 10:25am - Release of HLF Publication 'Celebrating Creativity' & honouring of senior writers
10:45am to 11:05am - Keynote address by Keki Daruwalla
11:05am to 11:10am - Vote of thanks by Prof. T Vijay Kumar (Jt. Director, OUCIP)
11:10am to 11:30am - Tea
11:30am to 12:30pm - Panel discussion on 'Celebrating Creativity'. Chaired by Dr. K Satchidanandan, with panelists Dr. Ananda Shankar, classical dancer; Mohan Krishna Indraganti, film director; and Dr. Vamsee Juluri, Prof. of Media Studies, US.
12:30pm to 01:40pm - Reading session - I (English). Chaired by Prof. Udaya Narayana Singh, with participating writers being Dr. K Satchidanandan, Mamang Dai, Dr. Shanta Acharya and Dr. Sukrita Paul Kumar.
01:40 to 02:20pm - Lunch
02:20 to 03:30pm - Reading session - II (Indian languages). Chaired by Dr. Sukrita Paul Kumar, with participating writers being Dr. Dileep Jhaveri (Gujarati), Prof. Udaya Narayana Singh (Maithili), Hemant Divate (Marathi) and T P Rajeevan (Malayalam).
03:30pm to 03:45pm - Tea
03:45 to 05:30pm - Reading session ? III (English). Chaired by Keki Daruwalla, with participating writers being Ambika Ananth, Prof. Laksmisree Banerjee, Prof. Hoshang Merchant, Dr. Rizio Yohannan Raj, Sridala Swami, Meitim Connolly, Maryam Ala Amjadi and Hiranya Aditi (the youngest participant).

11th December

09:30am to 11:00am - Reading session - IV (English). Chaired by Shanta Acharya, with participating writers being Navkirat Sodhi, Ibohal Kshetrimayum, Janice Pariat, Kalpana R J, Dominic Franks, Sharanya Haridas and V V B Rama Rao.
Reading session - Reading session - V (Indian Languages). Chaired by Sachidananda Mohanty, with participating writers being Probal Dasgupta (Bengali), Paramita Satpathy (Oriya), Panchanan Dalai (Oriya), Kamal Kr Tanti, Rashmirekha Bora and Siva Prasad Marar (Assamese).
11:00 to 11:15 - Tea
11:15 to 11:30 - Musings by Keki Daruwala
11:30 to 01:00 - Reading session ? VI (English). Chaired by Mamang Dai, with participating writers being Kalyani Kapur, Rumjhum Biswas, Thampi Jayasingh, Priti Aisola, Shernaz Wadia, Fatima Shahnaz and Gargi Talapatra.
Reading session ? Reading session ? VII (Gujarati & Kannada). Chaired by Dileep Jhaveri, with participating writers being Rajendra Patel, Sanju Wala, Nazir Mansuri, Neerav Patel and Ajay Sarvaiya (Gujarati) and Hema Pattannashetty (Kannada).
01:00 to 01:45 - Lunch
01:45 to 02:00 - Musings by Dr. K Satchidanandan
02:00 to 03:30 - Reading session ? VIII (English). Chaired by Laksmisree Banerjee, with participating writers being Manu Dash, Murali Sivaramakrishnan, Lovita JR Morang, Rajaram Ramachandran, Menka Shivdasani, Anupama Raju and Kala Ramesh.
Reading session ? IX (Telugu). Chaired by C Vijayasree, with participating writers being K Siva Reddy, Volga, Vinodini, Mahe Jabeen, Mukunda Rama Rao, Varanasi Nagalakshmi and R Siva Sankar Sarma.
03:30 to 03:45 - Tea
06:30 - 08:00 - Cultural evening at Taramati Baradari

12th December

0900 onwards - HaikuCraze, an interactive session on the art of Haiku writing, by Kala Ramesh
09:30 to 11:00 - Reading session ? X (English). Chaired by Hemant Divate, with participating writers being Priyadarshi Patnaik, Anindita Sengupta, Deepa Agarwal, Gopa Nayak, Mohd. Zahid, Kumarendra Mallick and Atreya Sarma.
Reading session ? Reading session ? XI (Marathi, Hindi & Urdu). Chaired by Sukrita Paul Kumar, with participating writers being Gian Singh, Jameela Nishat, Raoof Khair and Baig Ehsas (Urdu), Mangesh Kale and Varjesh Solanki (Marathi), Kavita Singh and Vinita Sharma (Hindi).
11:00 to 11:15 - Tea
11:15 to 11:30 - Musings by Mamang Dai
11:30 to 01:00 - Reading session ? XII (English). Chaired by T Vijay Kumar, with participating writers being Ruth Khanna, T S Chandramouli, Sivakami Velliangiri, Anand Vishwanadh, Seshu Chamarty, V Ramabrahmam and S K Agarwal.
Reading session ? Reading session ? XIII (Tamil & Malayalam). Chaired by T P Rajeevan, with participating writers being M Asadha, Sreenesan, Pazhanivel and Ajayan Bala (Tamil), and O P Suresh and Kalpetta Narayanan (Malayalam).
01:00 to 01:30 - Valedictory address by G S P Rao
01:30pm onwards - Farewell Lunch

Registration fee is Rs. 300 for student delegates and Rs. 500 for other delegates. Please contact G S P Rao of Muse India at 98483-45490 for further details.
Share. Save. Connect.
Be the first to comment on Hyderabad Literary Festival 2010! Just use the simple form below.
LEAVE A COMMENT has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Hyderabad Literary Festival 2010!
Rate Event
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
This page was tagged for
aista tirupati tournament entry list 45 +
maryam ala amjadi
talapatra gandra
Multiple Venues Multiple Venues events
December 2010 events
Follow on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.